Gay Critics Name Hathaway, “Argo”…And “Liz & Dick” Winners Of 2013 Dorian Awards

ArgoThe Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association announced on Wednesday the winners of its fourth annual Dorian Awards, honoring the finest in film, television and overall performances, not just LGBT-centric. Formed in 2009, GALECA presents its annual Dorian Awards, named after noted wit Oscar Wilde and his seminal novel The Picture of Dorian Gray, each February.

Argo, Daniel Day-Lewis and Anne Hathaway continue to build momentum towards the Oscars following their wins at Sunday’s Golden Globes with best film, actor and actress wins, respectively. Fellow Oscar hopeful How to Survive a Plague picked up Documentary of the Year and Matthew McCounaghey double feature Magic Mike and The Paperboy tied for Campy Flick of the Year.

On the television front, American Horror Story: Asylum tied with Homeland for Drama of the Year and Modern Family tied with The New Normal for Comedy of the Year. So perhaps it was inevitable that Ryan Murphy, who’s behind both Horror Story and New Normal, won the Wilde Artist of the Year.

Meanwhile, Liz & Dick picked up one of the few awards it will ever see for Campy TV Show of the Year, but as Lindsay infamously said, “Who’s counting?” Check out the full list of winners below:

Film of the Year


Film Performance of the Year

Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables

LGBT-Themed Film of the Year

Keep the Lights On

Documentary of the Year

How to Survive a Plague

Visually Striking Film of the Year

Life of Pi

Campy Flick of the Year (tie)

Magic Mike
The Paperboy

Unsung Film of the Year


TV Drama of the Year (tie)

American Horror Story

TV Comedy or Musical of the Year


TV Performance of the Year

Damian Lewis, Homeland
Jessica Lange, American Horror Story

TV Comedy or Musical Performance of the Year

Jennifer Hudson, Tribute to Whitney Houston, The Grammys

LGBT TV Show of the Year (tie)

Modern Family
The New Normal

Campy TV Show of the Year

Liz & Dick

Unsung TV Show of the Year

Happy Endings

TV or Movie Title of the Year

Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23

We’re Wilde About You Rising Star of the Year Award

Ezra Miller

Wilde Wit of the Year

Jon Stewart

Wilde Artist of the Year

Ryan Murphy

Timeless Award

Sir Ian McKellen

The awards will be presented on February 17 in Los Angeles at the Fourth Annual GALECA Dorian Awards Winners Afternoon Tea.

Don't forget to share: