Araki, Cholodenko and Cameron Mitchell (and Beyoncé) Get To Vote On The Oscars Now.

The annual random round-up of new voting members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was recently announced and filmmakers Gregg Araki (the ground breaking New Queer Cinema indie, The Living End, trailer up top), John Cameron Mitchell (Rabbit Hole, Hedwig and The Angry Inch) and Lisa Cholodenko (The Kids Are All Right) made the cut.

MTV Movie Award winner for “Best Fight” (in the film Obsessed) Beyoncé Knowles* was also honored with induction into the approximately 6,000 member voting block.

They join younger, hipper new members like Jennifer Lawrence (X-Men: First Class), Mila Kunis and Russell Brand. And with any luck they can all cancel out the votes of people like grumpy old homophobe (yet admittedly awesome actor) Ernest Borgnine. Find the complete list of new Academy members here.


*And yes, Beyoncé also shared a Black Reel Award for acting with the ensemble cast of Cadillac Records and has more Grammys than shoes at this point, but have you seen Obsessed? That shit is great.