The Emmy Goes To

Behind The Candelabra Wins 8 Emmys


The HBO biopic, Behind the Candelabra, won eight Emmys at the Creative Arts Emmys ceremony on Sunday. The HBO film only lost one of the nine categories it was nominated for, picking up awards for art direction, casting and makeup. The remaining six categories, which includes Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or a Movie, will be awarded live during the 66th Primetime Emmys ceremony on Sunday, September 22nd. The wins make good on the 15 nominations the movie racked up and the previous accolades received at the Cannes Film Festival and TCA Awards.

Other notable queer wins includes Tim Gunn, who picked up his first Emmy alongside Heidi Klum for his hosting duties on Project Runway. Additionally, Dan Bucatinsky won Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series, for his work on Scandal. Bucatinsky had a recurring role as a gay journalist and husband of the President’s Chief of Staff.

Behind the Candelabra‘s early wins:

Outstanding Casting for a Miniseries, Movie, or Special
Carmen Cuba

Outstanding Art Direction for a Miniseries or Movie
Howard Cummings, Patrick M. Sullivan Jr., and Barbara Munch Cameron

Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Miniseries or Movie
Mary Ann Bernard

Outstanding Hairstyling for a Miniseries or Movie
Marie Larkin, Yvette Stone, Kerrie Smith, and Kay Georgiou

Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Miniseries or Movie
Dennis Towns, Larry Blake, and Thomas Vicari,

Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup for a Series, Miniseries, Movie, or a Special
Kate Biscoe, Hiroshi Yada, Jamie Kelman, Stephen Kelley, Chrissie Beveridge, Todd Kleitsch, and Christien Tinsley

Outstanding Makeup for a Miniseries or Movie
Kate Biscoe, Deborah Rutherford, Deborah Lamia Denaver, Chrissie Beveridge, and Todd Kleitsch

Outstanding Costumes for a Miniseries or Movie
Ellen Mirojnick and Robert Q. Mathews

Other notable wins:

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series
Dan Bucatinsky, “Scandal” (ABC)

Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program
Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn, “Project Runway” (Lifetime)

Outstanding Special Class Program
“66th Annual Tony Awards” (CBS)

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics
Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum, “66th Annual Tony Awards” (CBS)

Check out a complete list of winners, which includes American Horror Story, Game Of Thrones and Saturday Night Live, here.