Gay Ex-Patriots From 10 Countries Banned From Marrying In France

france-gay-weddingFrance has agreed to ban foreign nationals from Algeria, Bosnia & Herzigovina, Cambodia, Laos, Montenegro, Morocco, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Tunisia and the region of Kosovo from getting wed under its new marriage equality law.

Radio France Internationale reports:

In a circulaire (recommendation note) presented to French civil servants stipulating how the new marriage law should be applied, the note stated that nationals from 11 countries are subjected to marriage laws in their home countries because of bilateral conventions signed in the past with France.

Unsurprisingly, none of those countries allow same-sex marriage, though these agreements were signed decades ago to regulate immigrant workers and French nationals living abroad. Their application to marriage is being called discriminatory because it denies marriage equality based on nationality. Ex-patriots with French partners are also banned from getting married unless they legally become French.

“As millions of gay people in France now have the right to marry, we’re still denied,” a Polish man engaged to his French boyfriend told Gay Star News. “It’s an outdated and unfair rule that because my home country is still homophobic, I have to suffer the consequences.”