The 51 House Democrats Who Haven’t Made Up Their Minds on ENDA Yet


Rep. Barney Frank may have introduced the (trans-inclusive!) Employment Non-Discrimination Act this week. And senior Democrats (including The Three Gays) may have met behind closed doors to plot strategy on how to get Congress to actually approve of some of this stuff. But did you know not all Democrats support the bill? It’s true! In fact, there are 51 one of them still straddling the fence. And we know how that position can feel: painful.

A reader points us to this comprehensive list (reproduced on the next page in case it disappears) of the 51 House Dems who have yet to give a thumbs up or down on ENDA. It’s unclear what criteria went into placing their names on this list, but we’ll guess it has something to do with none of them making a public statement of support or opposition to the bill. Perhaps they need a little nudge? If you recognize one of the names below as your own legislator (maybe you even donated to his or her campaign?), and you know how to find a dial tone, one might suggest you spend your lunch break (in between heaving down that Arby’s sandwich) doing something useful. Likely, this is a very similar list to the one Pelosi & Co. are using to find out which colleagues need lobbying.

Meet The Undecideds:

Bobby Bright (AL), Parker Griffith (AL), Vic Snyder (AR), Dennis Cardoza (CA), Allen Boyd, (FL), Alan Grayson (FL), Suzanne Kosmas (FL), Sanford Bishop (GA), David Scott (GA), Walt Minnick (ID), Bobby Rush (IL), Daniel Lipinksi (IL), Deborah Halvorsen (IL), Jerry Costello (IL), Peter Visclosky (IN), Joe Donnelly (IN), Brad Ellsworth (IN), Ben Chandler (KY), Frank Kratovil (MD), Dutch Ruppersberger (MD), Bart Stupak (MI), Mark Schauer (MI), Travis Childers (MS), Bennie Thompson (MS), Dina Titus (NV), Michael McMahon (NY), Scott Murphy (NY), Paul Tonko (NY), Daniel Maffei (NY), Earl Pomeroy (ND), Dan Boren (OK), Kathleen Dahlkemper (PA), Jason Altmire (PA), Christopher Carney (PA), Paul Kanjorski (PA), John Murtha (PA), John Spratt (SC), Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (SD), Al Green (TX), Solomon Ortiz (TX), Henry Cuellar (TX), Gene Green (TX), Glenn Nye (VA), Bobby Scott (VA), Thomas Perriello (VA), Rick Boucher (VA), Gerald Connolly (VA), Alan Mollohan (WV), Ron Kind (WI), David Obey (WI).