UPDATED: LGBT Candidate Election Scorecard

The 2012 elections are proving to be historic for the LGBT community, in part thanks to the major strides openly gay candidates have made. The Gay and Lesbian Victory Fund endorsed a record 180 openly LGBT candidates this year, out of which 118 have been elected.

This handy little scorecard reports the major winners (and losers) from Election Day.


Tammy Baldwin (D)

Won seat in the US Senate, Wisconsin

– First openly gay member of Senate



Sean Patrick Maloney (D)

Won seat in US House of Representatives, New York’s 18th Congressional District

– New York’s first openly gay representative and member of Congress



David Cicilline (D)

Won second term in US House of Representatives, Rhode Island’s 1st Congressional District




Mark Pocan (D)

Won Tammy Baldwin’s seat in US House of Representatives, Wisconsin’s 2nd Congressional District

– First time an openly LGBT member of Congress succeeded by another in the same Congressional District



Jared Polis (D)

Won third term in US House of Representatives, Colorado’s 2nd Congressional District



Richard Tisei (R)

Lost seat in US House Representatives, Massachussetts’  6th Congressional District




Kyrsten Sinema (D)

Won US House of Representatives, Arizona’s 9th Congressional District





Mark Takano (D)

Won US House of Representatives, California’s 41st Congressional District

– First openly gay person of color to serve in Congress



Kate Brown (D)

Won second term as Oregon’s Secretary of State




Stephen Skinner (D)

Won election to West Virginia State Legislature, 67th District

– West Virginia’s first openly gay state legislator



Joshua Boschee (D)

Won seat in North Dakota House of Representatives, 44th District

– North Dakota’s first openly gay state legislator



Joe Saunders (D)

Won seat in Florida’s House of Representatives, 49th District

– Joins David Richardson as Florida’s first openly gay state legislators



Justin Chennette (D)

Won seat in Maine’s House of Representatives, 134th District

– At 21, the youngest openly gay legislator in the US



Tim Brown (R)

Won seat in Ohio House of Representatives, 3rd District




Marie Mayor (D)

Lost seat in Delaware House of Representatives, 20th District





Andrew Staton (D)

Lost seat in Delaware’s State Senate, 6th District





Carl DeMaio (R)

Lost race for mayor of San Diego